Skip to content
English
  • There are no suggestions because the search field is empty.

How do you remove the lock or transfer ownership?

Need to stop using your Bold Smart Lock or hand it over to someone else? Here is how to transfer ownership or remove your lock without a hitch.

If you no longer need your Bold Smart Lock (or want to pass it on), you can easily arrange this via the Bold app. Below you can read how to transfer ownership or remove the lock completely.

Important: you can only transfer ownership to someone who already has access rights to the lock. See here how to add users.

Transfer ownership to an existing user

Once the other person has access rights:

  • Open the Bold app and click on the lock settings.
  • Select 'Device information'.
  • Select 'Owner'.
  • Choose 'Transfer to another user'.
  • Select the person from the list of current users with access to the lock.

Transfer to an organisation

If you are a Portal administrator of a Bold Pro Account:

  • Open the Bold app and click on the lock settings.
  • Select 'Device information'.
  • Select 'Owner'.
  • Choose 'Transfer to organisation'.
  • Choose the correct organisation in the app and confirm the transfer.

Transfer from an organisation

If you want to migrate a lock from an organisation to an individual user:

  • The receiving user must be part of your organisation.
  • Open the Bold app and click on the lock settings.
  • Select 'Device information'.
  • Select 'Owner'.
  • Choose 'Transfer to another user'.
  • Select the user from the list.

Please note: the list of users with access to this lock will not be carried over. In other words, these users will lose access to this lock.

Removing the device

To completely remove your Bold Smart Lock:

  • First remove the device physically from the door (this prevents you from being locked out).
  • Open the Bold app and click on the lock settings.
  • Select 'Device information'.
  • Select 'Owner'.
  • Choose 'Remove device'.

This will remove all users, clear the access log and delete all associated data from Bold's servers.